Alison Weir 18 February 2020

Alison Weir on The Lady of the Tower - The Fall of Anne Boleyn.

On Tuesday 18th February the prominent historical author Alison Weir gave a lecture on the fall of Anne Boleyn, who was famously beheaded inside the Tower of London and is buried inside the Chapel of St Peter ad Vincula.

Alison Weir is the highest-selling female historian (and the fifth best-selling historian) in the United Kingdom since records began in 1997. She has published twenty-three titles and sold more than 3 million books - over a million in the UK and more than 2.1 million in the USA. The Guardian newspaper has described her as being 'excellent at the little details that bring a world to life'. 

Her books to date include the following:


  • A Tudor Christmas (2018)
  • Queens of the Conquest (2017)
  • The Lost Tudor Princess: The Life of Margaret Douglas, Countess of Lennox (2015)
  • Elizabeth of York: The First Tudor Queen/Elizabeth of York: A Tudor Queen and Her World (2013)
  • Mary Boleyn: 'The Great and Infamous Whore'/Mary Boleyn: The Mistress of Kings (2011)
  • The Ring and the Crown: A History of Royal Weddings, 1066-2011 (co-written with Kate Williams, Sarah Gristwood and Tracy Borman) (2011)
  • Traitors of the Tower (2010)
  • The Lady in the Tower: The Fall of Anne Boleyn (2009)
  • Katherine Swynford: The Story of John of Gaunt and His Scandalous Duchess/Mistress of the Monarchy: The Life of Katherine Swynford, Duchess of Lancaster (2007)
  • Isabella, She-Wolf of France, Queen of England/Queen Isabella (2005)
  • Mary, Queen of Scots and the Murder of Lord Darnley (2003)
  • Henry VIII: King and Court/Henry VIII: The King and His Court (2001)
  • Eleanor of Aquitaine, By the Wrath of God, Queen of England/Eleanor of Aquitaine: A Life (1999)
  • Elizabeth the Queen/The Life of Elizabeth I (1998)
  • Children of England: The Heirs of King Henry VIII/The Children of Henry VIII (1996)
  • Lancaster and York: The Wars of the Roses/(U.S.) The Wars of the Roses (1995)
  • The Princes in the Tower (1992), republished as Richard III and the Princes in the Tower (2014)
  • The Six Wives of Henry VIII (1991)
  • Britain's Royal Families (1989)


  • Katheryn Howard: The Tainted Queen (2020)
  • Anna of Kleve: Queen of Secrets (2019)
  • Jane Seymour: The Haunted Queen (2018)
  • Anne Boleyn: A King's Obsession (2017)
  • Katherine of Aragon: The True Queen (2016)
  • The Marriage Game (2014)
  • A Dangerous Inheritance (2012)
  • The Captive Queen/Captive Queen (2010)
  • The Lady Elizabeth (2008)
  • Innocent Traitor (2006)

More information about Alison Weir and her books can be found here.

She is seen below after her lecture in the Chapel of St Peter ad Vincula, with the Chaplain, The Reverend Canon Roger Hall MBE.